The International Cinematographers Guild Announces the 24th Annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards Honorees

Ten Honorees Selected

LOS ANGELES, Feb. 23, 2021 – The International Cinematographers Guild  (ICG, IATSE Local 600) has named 10 honorees for their Annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards (ECA), spotlighting promising cinematographers and providing crucial exposure needed to succeed in the film and television industry. Due to the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic, the honorees chosen in 2020 will be honored at this year’s ECA event, which will be held virtually in the fall of 2021.

The honorees, who were selected from over 100 submissions, are:

Austin Scott Ahlborg, LOTUS
Andrew Aiello, Green Cobra
Jason Chau, Sting
Jac Cheairs, KENOBI: A Star Wars Fan Film
Morgan Gardiner, Molly Robber
Eric M. Hurt, Singularity
Allie Schultz, Your Monster
Gregor Tavenner, Pleasant Canyon
Michael Tedford, The Elder Scrolls: Legends – E3 Trailer 2019
Leonard P. Walsh ll, KINGSNAKE

Steven Poster, ASC, former National President of the ICG and Co-Chair of the ECA committee, said, “In this most unusual time, we made the difficult decision to postpone the Emerging Cinematographer Awards for one year. We felt that the honorees would not get the recognition they deserved during the pandemic. We are taking this opportunity, however, to announce the honorees and their short films because these talented cinematographers and directors deserve to be celebrated for the exceptional work they have created.”

Jimmy Matlosz, Co-Chair of the Guild’s ECA committee added, “Being that 2020 was a year of challenges for many families, groups and individuals, we are proud to keep the ECAs and our dedication to the art and craft of cinematography burning brightly. We look forward to honoring these talented cinematographers this year.”

ICG’s Emerging Cinematographer Awards give Local 600 members an opportunity to present themselves as directors of photography by submitting a short film with a running time of 30 minutes or less for consideration. The awards are open to any member of the Guild who is not already classified as a director of photography. The films are selected by a panel of ICG members from across the country and can be also be seen by a wider audience at selected film festivals throughout the year.

For more information about the ECAs go to or contact MaryAnne MacDougall at



The International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) represents approximately 9,000 members who work in film, television and commercials as directors of photography, camera operators, visual effects supervisors, still photographers, camera assistants, film loaders, all members of camera crews and publicists. The first cinematographers union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago, but it wasn’t until 1996 that Local 600 was born as a national guild. ICG’s ongoing activities include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the ICG Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine



ECA Awards Website:
ICG Website:

# # #


PRESS CONTACTS: Weissman/Markovitz Communications

Rick Markovitz · ·  818.760.8995
Cheri Warner · · 818.390.0999

Scroll to Top